Ideas Generation

Monday 23rd September 2013 (see Outcome 1, Research folder)

For our first task we had to create something from, if not looking with a creative eye, nothing. We were asked to look at our resources (the books in the library) and find 3 non lens-based images (paintings, drawings, graphics, etchings) that we would then interpret and use as inspiration for images – with yet another practical resource, believe it or not, the car park behind Bradford College. We had to consider the shapes, geometry, tone of the image, colour, lighting, composition, lines etc. To see further than just a bunch of cars, a heap of rubbish and the side of the building. I really enjoyed this task as it helped me push more to see outside of the box, to really search and see things, maybe, I didn’t see before. I actually found more than 3 that I could have done! Here are my efforts.

Untitled, 1959 (Woodcut) by Lygia Pape

Untitled, 1959 (Woodcut) by Lygia Pape

My version

My version

Angle de mur a l'oiseau perche (Bird perched on the corner of the wall) Jean Dubuffet

Angle de mur a l’oiseau perche (Bird perched on the corner of the wall) by Jean Dubuffet

My version

My version

Monoprint 4. 2008. Screenprint on watermarked paper by Cory Arcangel

Monoprint 4. 2008. Screenprint on watermarked paper by Cory Arcangel

My version

My version

'Plate 1' - Wols (Alfred Otto Wolfgang Schulze) from the illustrated book Naturelles by Rene de Solier 1946.

‘Plate 1’ – Wols (Alfred Otto Wolfgang Schulze) from the illustrated book Naturelles by Rene de Solier 1946.

My version

My version

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

