“Important”

Tuesday 24th September 2013

Sometimes coming up with an idea to shoot can be as simple as going on Wikipedia, clicking ‘Random Article’, going to the 5th line down, and picking the 5th word of the line.
My word was ‘important’. My first thoughts, as we were asked how we would create a set of images in association with our word – using Bradford as our shooting ground, were of the people. What is important to the people of Bradford? As an inhabitant of Bradford all my life, I would say these aspects consist of: restaurants, shops, history, safety, culture, education, night life & social, community, film & animation, saving the buildings, football and environment. At first I was thinking about literally just going out and photographing these aspects for example – the National Media Museum, Valley Parade Bradford City Stadium… But then I began thinking more about the vast array of different cultures and people in Bradford and how they all bring something to the city. One of the things I have observed over the years is the growth in different places to buy and eat food, including all the different and new types of food that, without these people, we wouldn’t get the chance to taste! Food is something that is important, essential to man kind and to every person – no matter their language, ethnicity, culture background… everyone needs food! It is something that brings people together every minute of every day. And as welcoming all different types of people into our city is important, this is my interpretation.
I decided to simply: photograph the fronts of different food places/shops/stores.
On the day we were assigned this task I, again, only had my Samsung WB150 digital camera, and as a result I couldn’t achieve the detail/drama/focal length I would have preferred. I want to go and re-shoot each of my chosen images using my DSLR.
Here are a selection of some of the delights in Bradford!

SAM_1260 SAM_1262 SAM_1264 SAM_1265 SAM_1268 SAM_1270 SAM_1274 SAM_1279 SAM_1280 SAM_1282 SAM_1285 SAM_1287 SAM_1289 SAM_1291 SAM_1293 SAM_1302 SAM_1303 SAM_1306 SAM_1310 SAM_1311 SAM_1319 SAM_1322 SAM_1327 SAM_1337 SAM_1338 SAM_1341 SAM_1343 SAM_1344 SAM_1347 SAM_1349 SAM_1350 SAM_1351mammamia polishsmorg

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

