Practising: Shutter Speed

14th & 15th November 2013

What have I done?

I have wanted to experiment with shutter speeds and drawing/playing with light using my camera on a tripod set on timer, some candles, an LED flash light and any other light sources I could find!

What have I got from it?

I got a thrill from creating these images as they’re not possible to see with the naked eye, and to be able to capture the movement of light within an image is quite exciting and hard to comprehend. I also learnt about the restrictions a time limit can create and what can be created in that time. In effect, the use of long and longer shutter speeds.

2 sec exposures

IW9B9218RESIZED IW9B9220RESIZED IW9B9221RESIZED IW9B9225RESIZED IW9B9245RESIZED IW9B9246RESIZED IW9B9379RESIZED IW9B9398RESIZED IW9B9412RESIZED IW9B9529RESIZED

4 sec exposure

IW9B9417RESIZED IW9B9431RESIZED IW9B9432RESIZED

6 sec exposure

IW9B9463RESIZED

What’s next?

I would like to experiment with this a little more, and also apply shutter speeds more towards portraits and action that would be captured in everyday life.

………………

3rd December 2013

What have I done?

I wanted to experiment with a fast shutter speed this time – in an attempt to freeze movement.

What have I got from it?

Hair caught in action! – but not completely frozen. I see that maybe an even quicker shutter speed will be needed next time using a higher ISO and a smaller f-stop number to freeze the action.

IW9B0240RESIZED IW9B0241RESIZED IW9B0242RESIZED All shot at 1/60 sec

What’s next?

A creative re-shoot…

………….

5th December 2013

What have I done?

Looked at long exposures and shadows – light and how a portrait can be replicated using an LED flash light and a long exposure (slow shutter speed). I had one shining towards me from behind the camera as a ‘back light’ almost, then a hand held one.

What have I got from it?

I have managed to create multiple portraits within one image as a result of using a slow shutter speed. I have also seen that the camera catches every little bit of movement, even in between the flashes of light – as a result of having the back light too.

IW9B9716RESIZED IW9B9721RESIZED IW9B9726RESIZED IW9B9727RESIZED IW9B9729RESIZED IW9B9731RESIZED IW9B9734RESIZED <<< 2 sec exposures.

IW9B9742RESIZED IW9B9749RESIZED 5 sec exposures.

What’s next?

Incorporating my new discoveries into my own work and the mini project brief.

………………..

9th December 2013

What have I done?

I went to Leeds with my

class mates and we practised shooting at night using all the new techniques we had learnt. The Christmas lights were up in the town centre so it gave us something to work with. So I experimented with movement and zoom burst to show shutter speeds. I wanted to get my class mates involved but they weren’t up or being photographed too much!

What have I got from it?

I have seen that light travels through an image and how light creates a pattern. I have also learnt that I should take a tripod with me next time because although it would be difficult carrying a tripod with me, it is also difficult taking images using a long exposure, without them!

IW9B9860RESIZED Keeping the camera as steady as possible…

Boom!
IW9B9888RESIZED IW9B9899RESIZED IW9B9900RESIZED IW9B9921RESIZED IW9B9903RESIZEDIW9B9853RESIZED

What’s next?

Use a tripod next time! And ask someone who is willing to be photographed. I can also incorporate these techniques into my work.

……………….

10th December 2013

What have I done?

Booked the studio with some of my class mates and practised ‘freezing the action’ with some action shots!

What have I got from it?

At first the light meter told me to shoot at 1/250 however this was too dark and the shutter was shutting quicker than the lights had chance to react. So I shot at 1/125 instead, and that worked a lot better. I am very happy with these images as they are funny but also technically good images.

IW9B0036-01RESIZED IW9B0038-01RESIZED IW9B0039-01RESIZED IW9B0043-01RESIZED IW9B0044-01RESIZED IW9B0047-01RESIZED IW9B0051-01RESIZED IW9B0062-01RESIZED

What’s next?

I think I achieved what I set out to do!

31st December 2013

I asked my brother to wave really fast as I took a photo of him using each shutter speed – my camera was on a tripod.
1/125 sec                                                          2 secs
IW9B9594RESIZED IW9B9607RESIZED

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

