Advanced Studio Practice 2A: Shoot: “As sly as a Fox”

27th October 2014

I wanted to shoot towards my ‘animal phrases’ project, so I booked a model, researched my concept/chosen animal for this shot and got the clothing, make up (face paint in this case), location and lighting sorted, and shot it!
I was able to look up some tutorials to do the make up myself, and already had some clothing I wanted to use because it fit with the chosen phrase/animal. I picked my model specifically because of her facial features that worked well with the concept of a fox.

At first I shot the model in front of a white wall, with the light shining down on her and therefore casting shadows against the wall but also over her eyes and cheek bones when she leaned forwards. I feel these are most successful towards the concept I am trying to create/portray because of the expression on her face and the ‘sly’ and ‘shady’ aesthetic this gives the image.

As well as doing some close ups against a white wall, I also wanted to create a literal interpretation on location – of a fox in context, being sneaky. I used my back garden as a location because I see them passing through swiftly from time t0 time, even though they are quite wild animals. It almost gives the impression and implication of them being sly – because they are in a place where they shouldn’t be – on someone else’s property as it where.

IW9B4067-03RESIZED IW9B4079-03RESIZED IW9B4081-03RESIZED IW9B4091-02RESIZED IW9B4117-03RESIZED IW9B4123-04RESIZED2 IW9B4120-02RESIZED IW9B4171-02RESIZED IW9B4174-04RESIZED IW9B4180-01RESIZED IW9B4142-01RESIZED IW9B4133-02RESIZED IW9B4135-01RESIZED IW9B4151-01RESIZED IW9B4160-03RESIZED IW9B4162-01RESIZED

I think this shoot was a success because I covered both a metaphorical and literal interpretation of the phrase. I am also happy with the model I picked and how she got into character very well, giving me a diverse range of poses and expressions. This shoot has inspired me to experiment more with these phrases and shoots, and to not shy away from thinking outside of the box.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Advanced Studio Practice 2A: Shoot: “As sly as a Fox”

Leave a Reply

