Advanced Studio Practice 2B: Shoot 2 (testing)

22nd February 2015

Lewis

The aim here was to photograph Lewis (my brother) in his favourite place. I asked him, if I were to photograph him in his favourite place – whether that be somewhere he is all the time or somewhere that holds memories for him, where would it be? He instantly said “Whitehead Place – childhood memories”. Whitehead Place is the street my family and I lived on when my brother and I were little and our old house has specific memories of childhood for both of us. When we arrived there he instantly started looking at the street and the memories came flooding back to him. He verbalised these memories to me as I was shooting. I asked him to ponder further on these memories as I photographed him. His smile on the first few photos next to the wall reminds me so much (to me personally) of how he was as a child and I haven’t seen him smile like that in a long time.

This shoot has shown me how location is so important for the context of the image/person being photographed, but also to evoke a reaction in/from the person, especially seen as it is important to them. This then helps the viewer to connect with the person.

After acquiring feedback from my tutor I also realised that some of the specific areas I photographed in these images (e.g stood against the white & black wall with ‘Whitehead Place’ at the top of the image) are symbolic. This example in-particular is because we figured out that the black part of the wall is the time we lived on the street, and the white part is the time we’ve spent in our new house! Because we moved from this place when I was 5 and my brother 7 years old. Now I am 21 and he is 23.

My favourite image and the one I feel is also very symbolic is the 7th image along. The fact that he is stood, looking away from the camera (pondering), his stance, and how we can see perspective and 2 different directions because he is at the corner of the wall. This could symbolise past and present, and I get a sense of nostalgia from this image.

I want to continue this technique of cleverly using location as a symbol/context for the subject and the meaning.

Leave a Reply

